Klopp reveals source of Emre Can’s problems


Reds boss says calf injury and not contract problems have been affecting young German’s form

  • 22:30, 3 FEB 2017
  • Updated22:48, 3 FEB 2017

Jurgen Klopp believes Emre Can’s contract stand-off with Liverpool hasn’t affected his form as he insisted: “He knows what I want.”

The Germany international’s current deal expires at the end of next season and negotiations with his representative over an extension have stalled.

Can has struggled for consistency so far this term but Klopp says that’s been due to an ongoing calf injury rather than the uncertainty over his future.

“Maybe if he didn’t know what I think it would affect him but he knows what I want,” Klopp said.

Asked if the £10million signing from Bayer Leverkusen remained part of his long-term plans, Klopp added: “I speak to the players, not the press.

“If I say yes it puts pressure on the club to do it immediately. If I say no the player thinks I do not want him any more.

“Emre knows exactly what we want. That’s the only thing that matters.”

continue reading here : http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/emre-can-problem-jurgen-klopp-12553617

About allaboutanfield

I have been a fan of Liverpool FC since 1978. I love everything and anything about the club. Like every fan , I share with them the joys and disappointment as well. I love to write and share information I have discovered on the web. Born and bred in the sunny island of Singapore. This is my first attempt to blog. I welcome advise from fans on how to improve it. Thanks for reading about me. I hope you enjoy reading my articles. You Never Walk Alone
This entry was posted in Manager watch, Match updates and previews, Opinions, Others, Player watch, Recent Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

