Does improving Adam Lallana deserve his lucrative new Liverpool contract?


 22 February 2017

Adam Lallana has signed a new contract at Liverpool, rewarding his strong form in 2016/17, but does the deal make sense for the club?

Lallana’s previous deal ran until 2019, and was signed when he joined the club in 2014.

He was one of a trio of players signed from Southampton, as Dejan Lovren and Rickie Lambert also arrived as Liverpool looked to go one better in the Premier League and also have a go in the Champions League.

The above sentence sounds ridiculous now, as they weren’t the type of signings needed for a club aiming to return to the upper echelons of European football and win their first league title in 25 years.

But of the three players Lallana was the safest bet, and had long been tipped to make the step up to a top club, even during his days playing in the Championship.

Liverpool were getting a technically gifted attacking player who could keep the ball in tight areas in the final third, and could chip in with goals and assists here and there.

He might not have had the production required of someone who could turn the club into title winners, but he’d be a good addition to the squad as they challenged on all fronts.

It didn’t quite work out that way for him, and by his own admission his first season wasn’t as successful as he’d hoped.

“There’s definitely more for me to give next season,” he said at the time. “I’ll be looking to be out on the pitch more consistently because it’s been difficult for me to get 100 percent into my rhythm this year, from being on the pitch and then off it.”

continue reading here : http://www.thisisanfield.com/2017/02/improving-adam-lallana-deserve-lucrative-new-liverpool-contract/

About allaboutanfield

I have been a fan of Liverpool FC since 1978. I love everything and anything about the club. Like every fan , I share with them the joys and disappointment as well. I love to write and share information I have discovered on the web. Born and bred in the sunny island of Singapore. This is my first attempt to blog. I welcome advise from fans on how to improve it. Thanks for reading about me. I hope you enjoy reading my articles. You Never Walk Alone
This entry was posted in Opinions, Others, Player watch, Recent Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

