Manninger set to retire: ‘Keeper on career, LFC experience and future


Alex Manninger

Alex Manninger has confirmed he will retire from professional football upon the expiry of his Liverpool contract this summer.

The goalkeeper will hang up his gloves after a lengthy and distinguished 22-year career within the game, which included spells in the Premier League, La Liga and the Bundesliga and 34 caps with his native Austria.

Manninger – a double winner with Arsenal in 1998 and a league champion with Juventus in 2012 – joined the Reds last summer on a short-term deal from FC Augsburg.

The 39-year-old hasn’t figured in competitive action for Jürgen Klopp’s side, but has been a positive presence at Melwood, offering unwavering support and advice to the club’s goalkeeping ranks and drawing on his experience to help his teammates throughout a busy campaign.

But now Manninger has made the decision to call time on his career – and he caught up with Liverpoolfc.com at the training complex recently to discuss his decision, his year working with the Reds, his thoughts on the current goalkeepers at the club and his plans for the future…

Alex, you’ve made the decision to retire from professional football after more than 20 years in the game…

Yes, it’s true that I’ve made the decision to retire. I wasn’t going to announce it initially, but then I thought if John [Achterberg], yourselves or the club wanted me to, I thought it’d be a nice gesture to announce it via the club I was last with. I thought about it a couple of months ago and I was keen to decide myself, not wait again for the summer and whether I receive a phone call or not. I tried to listen to myself, to my body, and then I said ‘no, that’s enough’. I didn’t want to go too far and let my body decide, or the phone decide if it doesn’t ring, so that’s why I came to the decision of that being it for me. I feel good, I finished at a high level I never dreamed of. If I played for big clubs at my peak, that’s one thing, but to have had this experience now with the staff, coaches and players of Liverpool is fantastic. I’ve had one of the greatest experiences in my career here, but it is time.

continue reading here : http://www.liverpoolfc.com/news/first-team/263769-manninger-set-to-retire-keeper-on-career-lfc-experience-and-future

About allaboutanfield

I have been a fan of Liverpool FC since 1978. I love everything and anything about the club. Like every fan , I share with them the joys and disappointment as well. I love to write and share information I have discovered on the web. Born and bred in the sunny island of Singapore. This is my first attempt to blog. I welcome advise from fans on how to improve it. Thanks for reading about me. I hope you enjoy reading my articles. You Never Walk Alone
This entry was posted in Latest news, Opinions, Others, Player watch. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Anfields of Athenry

Liverpool F.C. through the eyes of an Irish woman

EPL Statistics

Intriguing analyses of Barclays Premier League football matches

Whizztrip

Amazing Places and Offbeat Destinations

Kiwi Sports Chick

A kiwi chick that loves everything sports. Huge football fan, especially Liverpool FC. A place where I write my thoughts, so please no hate.

World For Traveller

Let's discover a new place !

Football Corner

Best corner to share your ideas on football!

The Streets of Anfield Road

Blogs about Liverpool Football Club and the Boston Red Sox. Follow me on Twitter @FirePhoenix23

No Standing

A trip down the corridor of uncertainty...

Bass Tuned To Red

Football stats nerdery, with a focus on Liverpool FC.

AnfieldIndex.com

A great LiverpoolFC WordPress.com site

Kop That - Liverpool FC

News, views and opinion on Liverpool FC

Liverpool FC Blog |LFC News| Videos

A great LiverpoolFC WordPress.com site

The Spion Kop

Independent analysis and comment on Liverpool FC

A great LiverpoolFC WordPress.com site

Football Following

where support lasts beyond the 90th minute

OurKop.com

A great LiverpoolFC WordPress.com site

Injury League

A great LiverpoolFC WordPress.com site

Soccer Tickets Online

A great LiverpoolFC WordPress.com site

WhoScored.com

A great LiverpoolFC WordPress.com site

