The Pros and Cons Of Keeping Daniel Agger


Updated: July 25, 2014

Ever since Liverpool signed Mamadou Sakho on deadline day of Summer 2013, Daniel Agger’s position at the club has come into question. After all, why would the club spend over £18m on a left-sided centre back if they weren’t going to use him as first choice?

So if Agger will be second choice when Sakho is fit and available, should he be kept at the club?

Agger

Ability

I think most of us agree that Agger is a quality player. One of the few in the world who are genuinely able to comfortably carry a ball into midfield and make a good pass or even have a decent shot on target.

Defensively he does well too. Considering he has had a reputation for sometimes not being the best in a tackle, he won 61% of his duels last season. Gary Cahill won 68%, but Agger’s 61% is still better than Skrtel, Sakho, Mertesacker, Terry and Kompany. Players who are generally believed to be among the best in the league.

When we look at how he has contributed to Liverpool’s season, we won 2.67 points per game when he played whilst conceding less than a goal per game. With Sakho playing we won 1.875 points and conceded nearly 1.6 every match. With Skrtel playing the numbers are 2.2 PPG and conceded 1.4.

Just from the numbers, he looks like our best defender and in terms of overall ability, I think he is worth keeping.

continue reading here : http://anfieldindex.com/9554/pros-cons-keeping-daniel-agger.html

 

About allaboutanfield

I have been a fan of Liverpool FC since 1978. I love everything and anything about the club. Like every fan , I share with them the joys and disappointment as well. I love to write and share information I have discovered on the web. Born and bred in the sunny island of Singapore. This is my first attempt to blog. I welcome advise from fans on how to improve it. Thanks for reading about me. I hope you enjoy reading my articles. You Never Walk Alone
This entry was posted in Opinions, Player watch, Recent Posts, Transfer rumours. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment